Uncategorized

My rose project

red-rose-1347966359hab

My aunt, who has the greenest thumbs I know, let me in on a secret last February. A secret about growing rose bushes from store bought roses.
Since my husband had just bought the most beautiful roses, big and oh so red, I decided to try it.

The first thing she said was that I had to be patient. I shrugged, patience is not my stronges side. Then she told me to cut the flower and leaves of the stem, and put the stem in a glass of water in the windowsill.

A month later I called her and said that it was a failure, nothing happened. She told me again to be patient so I waited. I waited so long that I kind of forgot about my project.

In June I took the glass and decided to through it away but when I looked at the stem I was baffeled. There was a little knot of roots on the lowest part!  Of course I forgot to take a pocture of it but here you can see my second attempt.


The bandage is so I know which one’s what. The first one was red, this one’s old pink.

And that was the secret. Put the stem in a glass and forget it there for a couple of months.


Well I put the red one in a pot so I guess we’ll see how it works out. I’ll keep you posted

4 thoughts on “My rose project

Leave a Reply

