Uncategorized

Guest Post – A Letter to the Woman Who Kissed My Baby

 

Dear woman,

I noticed you as soon as you walked in the restaurant. I saw you watching me out of the corner of your eye while you were waiting at the front counter. I saw the glimmer in your eyes when you looked at my baby. I heard your chuckle when my toddler told me she threw rice on the floor. I saw the sympathy in your smile when you looked at my untouched plate.

You asked if you could hold my baby while I took a few bites of food.

You were so kind. Not many people care to make sure that I get fed, too.

You held my baby, and looked at her so lovingly. She seemed to enjoy you. She stared back into your eyes. She seemed comfortable. She touched your face. She cooed at you.

After a few minutes your food was ready to go. You said you were going to give her back to me, but first you kissed my baby on the forehead and told her you loved her.

I was in a state of shock and confusion.

Other than friends and family I’ve never had anyone kiss my children. I’ve never had a stranger tell my children they love them. I really wasn’t sure how to respond to you, so I smiled gently and reached out my arms for my child.

There were many things I wanted to say to you for kissing my child but I didn’t want to make a scene in the restaurant as I feared I would become emotional.

I wanted to tell you that even though my child receives love from many people she can always use more. I wanted to express my gratitude towards the well-wishes and kindness you showed to my baby. I wanted to acknowledge your role as part of the village that is raising my child.

I wanted to thank you.

In a world where people are more busy, more rushed, and more distant, this gesture of caring towards another human being is more important than we can imagine. It is teaching our children kindness and is allowing them to truly feel their worth. It emphasizes that, as adults, we need to slow down and embrace the beauty surrounding us. It reminds us all to be selfless. Above all, it affirms that the most valuable thing we can give is time; a second to smile at a passing stranger, a moment to hold a door open, a minute to say a kind word, an hour to play a game with your child, a day to spend helping in your community. Your gesture of caring encompasses all that is right in our world.

To the woman who kissed my child, you are a beautiful soul. Thank you for sharing your love.

We love you, too.

Sam has a passion for organic wine, profanities, and being Mom. She has 4 beautiful daughters, a dog, and her husband. Sam’s got a great humor and writes amazing posts about parenthood and family life.

If you want to check out more of Sam’s posts here are her links:

Blog: www.moderndayhippie.ca

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/mdhippiemama

8 thoughts on “Guest Post – A Letter to the Woman Who Kissed My Baby

Leave a Reply

