Uncategorized

Beauty Essentials for The Tired Mom

I met my girlfriend the other day and she asked me “How in the world do you always look so good?” I asked her what she meant, as I’m not one of those women that goes all in with clothes, makeup and hairstyle (and frankly, I always think I look like what I am; a tired mother of two). She said “It doesn’t matter when I see you or what you’re wearing, you always look so fresh. How do you do that, when I know you don’t sleep at night, you have two kids and you take care of almost everything at home?”

Sign up here for the newsletter

This is a sponsored post. I received the Artic Circle products as a compensation for this honest review. I only promote companies that I like and all opinions are my own!

I told her, what I’m going to share with you now, she didn’t believe that this was all but it really is this simple.

  1. Sleep – As all of us know, then sleep is crucial for us humans. It depends on your age how much you have to sleep. Babies need the most (makes you wonder why they don’t just do it then) but adults need 6-8 hours of sleep every night to stay fresh and energized the next day. As a mom to a baby, that doesn’t sleep through the night, I’ve come to accept the fact that I won’t get these hours for the next couple of months. So I’ve decided to let chores and everything else wait while VL sleeps, to do the same! As soon as he falls asleep I cuddle myself in bed and relax. Even though I only get 20-40 minutes at a time, it really helps. I mean hey, it’s called a beauty sleep for a reason! 
  2. Water – It’s amazing how much effect water has on our body and mind. I never thought much about it, but for the past couple of weeks I’ve made sure I always have a water bottle next to me. And I can really see a difference! Instead of being a little puffy when I woke up in the morning or having a greyish color in my face, I wake up and I’m already up for the day. And my face actually has a normal pink color to it (without any makeup). 
  3. Aviendo’s Artic Circle 5 Care Face cream and Face mud – I’ve never been much of a cream/lotion kind of type but I fell in love with these products as soon as I tried them! Aviendo is a Danish company that makes all their products using only natural  ingredients. The 5 Care Face Cream, for example, is made out of shea butter, sunflower and licorice among other things. I apply the cream every morning when I wake up and every night before I go to sleep. You want to know what I think is the best part about it? It’s the taste! Haha, no I’m not crazy and no, I don’t eat it! But you know how it is, when you apply lotion to your face. There’s always a little that goes on your lips and when you open your mouth or lick your lips, you can taste the lotion. I hate the normal taste of lotions (maybe one of the reason why I’m not a big fan of them) but this almost taste like candy! The face mud also plays a big part of my fresh looks. Every time I take a shower(we live in a old house so it  takes a bit of time for the water to get the right temperature), I apply a thin layer on my face, and by the time that the shower is ready, the mud is dry! I love the feeling when I rinse it off. It kind of feels like you’re shedding the tiredness! 
  4. Smile – Some might say that a smile isn’t an essential but I disagree. We all know how much a person can light up with a smile. So I say that this is a crucial thing. Smile and stand tall! It makes you feel better and makes you look good, a win-win thing!

That’s it! That’s all I do and according to my girlfriend, it works! Luckily, because I sure don’t have time for more haha!

I would love to know your secrets! What are your beauty essentials?

Leave a Reply

